FORM and the Port Hedland Courthouse Gallery is proud to present the 2018 Hedland Art Awards in partnership with principal partner BHP, and major partners, Town of Port Hedland, Pilbara Development Commission, and Pilbara Ports Authority. Artists from the Pilbara, Kimberley, Gascoyne, Mid West and Goldfields-Esperance regions are in the running for over $100,000 in prizes.

The Hedland Art Awards is one of the richest and most prestigious non-acquisitive regional art awards in Australia, providing exhibitors with exposure to a national audience, and giving new and upcoming artists opportunities to develop and showcase their work.

You can view the online catalogue here. 

2018 Hedland Art Award Winners


Patrick Mung Mung was awarded the top prize of Most Outstanding Work for his piece Places of Ngagoorroon which judges described as follows, “The artist documents with real knowledge the way in which the foliage follows the typography to clearly articulate his informed knowledge of his country. He is taking us on a journey in the painting.”

FORM Regional Curator Andrew Nicholls said FORM was absolutely delighted by the calibre of entries received for the 2018 Hedland Art Award.

“As a result of the very high quality of entries, this year’s exhibition is one of the largest ever, with 108 artworks included. We congratulate all of the finalists and cannot wait to share their work with the Hedland community.”

  • Most Outstanding Work: $30,000

Patrick Mung Mung- Places of Ngagoorroon


  • Best Work by an Indigenous Artist: $20,000

Nyarapayi Giles – Warmurrungu

“A bold and commanding work that demands your attention through its lively colouration and sensitive calibration of mark-making.”


  • Best Work by a non-Indigenous Artist: $20,000

Roderick Sprigg – Agnus Dei

“The artist very cleverly engages his audience by requiring them to send a text. He then responds with a link to a beautifully shot video of a ram that is poignant, elegant, and moving.”


  • Kathy Donnelly Award: $10,000

Nancy Nyanjilpayi Chapman – Kalaru

“Beautiful colour and sensitivity to the medium used. Also for its sense of place and the subtle and evocative creation of space within the work.”


  • Best Work in a Medium other than Painting: $8,000

Michelle Siciliano – Port Island

Port Island speaks of the landscape and makes use of recycled materials from this landscape to form a witty commentary of the experience of living in the Pilbara. They are rough materials to work with and she has brought them together in symmetry.”


  • Best Sculptural Work: $8,000

Roma Nyutangkta Butler – Nyukali

“This creature comes alive. It literally jumps off the plinth- its nose alert to danger. It’s a beautifully crafted work. The artist understand her materials and has brought them together in a way that shows enormous skill and sensitivity to the nature of the medium.”


  • Youth Award (under 25): $2,500

Corban Clause Williams – Canning Stock Route

“Remarkably sophisticated work by a young artist. Great composition and use of colour. The work itself shows confidence in its process and describes the country with great finesse.”


  • Encouragement Award: $2,000

Layne Dhu Dickie – Life in the Pilbara

“…great attention to detail, delightful wit and great sense of humour with some very clear observation details and real observational skill in evidence.”


  • People’s Choice Award: $1,000

To be announced, vote now at the Gallery


This year 108 works were selected for admission. Eight awards were selected by a judging panel, following a rigorous preselection process. The 2018 Judges were:


NICI CUMPSTON – Artistic Director, TARNANTHI Festival of Contemporary Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art, Art Gallery
of South Australia

PROFESSOR TED SNELL AM CitWA – Chief Cultural Officer, University of
Western Australia

The judges commented on the high quality of this year’s awards and their enjoyment in the process of selecting the winners.

All winning and finalist works will be exhibited at the Port Hedland Courthouse Gallery until December 2018; an online catalogue of works is also available on our website and we recommend calling the gallery on (08) 9173 1064 to purchase works.

FORM would like to thank the 2018 Hedland Art Awards Principal Partner BHP, and supporting partners Town of Port Hedland, Pilbara Development Commission, Pilbara Ports Authority, Roy Hill, IBN, and WEB Business Hub for their support in delivering another successful community program.


Congratulations once again to our 2018 finalists:

Margaret Albert

Narelle Bettini

Claudia Billiau

Pascal Billiau

Shellie Blatch

Illyampi Victor Burton

Roma Nyutjangka Butler

Katjarra Butler

Diane Campbell

Nancy Nyanjilpayi Chapman

Doreen Chapman

Jacky Cheng

Isaac Cherel

Jill Churnside

Hozaus Bidaliji Claire

HSHS Senior School Engagement Class

Tiffany Clitheroe

Brandy Coppin

Sarah Cox

Marian Cox

Debbie Crothers

SangitaTrivedi Daniel

Michelle Day

Layne Dhu Dickie

Caitlin Dominey

Maddison Edgar

Kertu Ehala

Dallas Fletcher

Melissa Foster

Zenith Gardiner

Nyaparu (William) Gardiner

Ian Gear

Bob Gibson

Nyarapayi Giles


Anne Gordon

Jasmine Green

Maggie Green

Naomie Hatherley

Leanne Heenan

Ella Hinch

Howard Holder

David Hooper

Janeene Horne

Jennifer Hourquebie

Sadie James

Tjukupati James

Pippa Johns

Craig Jordan

Siobhan Kelley

Helen Komene

Lavinia Letheby

Travis Lilley

Tania Lindau

Benjamin Loaring

Jody Loaring

Owen Loaring

Skye Lockyer

Bobbi Lockyer

Lily Long

Annetta Lormada

Clifton Mack

Michael Macrae

Lindsay Malay

Michael Maroney

Ngarralja Tommy May

Janelle McCaffrey

Natalie Mccarthy

Carrie Mcdowell

Alana McKenzie

Eric Mitchell

Amie Montefiore


Patsy Mudgedell

Patrick Mung Mung

Nyangulya Katie Nalgood

Illiam Nargoodah

Lindsay Newland

Ellen Norrish

Taylah Nowers

Michael Paekam

Summer Parker

Serena Parker

Beryl Ponce

Eunice Porter

Greg Postle

Shirley Purdie

Kathy Ramsay

Natalie Read

Peta Riley

Jayne Rolinson

Winnie Sampi

Judith Samson

Allery Sand

Lezlie Saunders

Michelle Siciliano

John Prince Siddon

Amanda Smith

Roderick Sprigg

Mervyn Street

Emma Tann

Jasmine Tucker

Leah Umbagai

Daniel Walbidi

Ben Ward

Wendy Warrie

Bugai Whyoulter

Corban Williams

Jessica Wilson

Zaharni Wright