Open or Close Menu

2017 Hedland Art Awards

About 2017 Hedland Art Awards

View the 2017 Hedland Art Awards online catalogue here.

FORM and the Port Hedland Courthouse Gallery is proud to present the 2017 Hedland Art Awards in partnership with principal partners BHP, and supporting partners Pilbara Development Commission and Town of Port Hedland. Artists from the Pilbara, Kimberley, Gascoyne, Mid West and Goldfields-Esperance regions to be in the running for over $100,000 in prizes.

The Hedland Art Awards is one of the most prestigious awards in Western Australia, providing regional artists exposure to a national audience and giving new and upcoming artists opportunities to develop their work.


FORM is proud to present the 2017 Hedland Art Awards Creative Public Program – three months of workshops, events and fringe activities that highlight the wealth of artistic talent in Port Hedland and the wider Pilbara region. Click the image below to view or download a copy of our public program.

Image credit: Mark Lobo

Image credit: Mark Lobo


Award Category Winner Cash prize
Most Outstanding Work Kumpupirntily – Billy Yunkurra Atkins $30,000
Best Work by an Indigenous Artist Untitled – Gloria $20,000
Best Work by a non-Indigenous Artist Intermediate Pots – Clare Peake $20,000
Kathy Donnelly Award Untitled (Mona Lisa) – Doreen Chapman $10,000
Best Work in a Medium other than Painting Drifter – Nyapuru (William) Gardiner $8,000
Best Sculptural Work Jalinyi – Sebastian Arrow $8,000
Youth Award (under 25) Captain Hedland’s Day Off – Layne Dhu-Dickie $2,500
Encouragement Award Ngikin Ngikin – Nola Campbell $2,000
People’s Choice Award Towards 80 Mile – Melissa North $1,000


2017 Hedland Art Awards Finalists

Congratulations to the following artists for being selected as one of 87 finalists in this year’s art awards. The winners will be announced on the evening of Friday 6 October and published on our website on Saturday 7 October. We wish each of them the best of luck!

Helen Ansell Agnes Armstrong Sebastian Arrow
Billy Atkins (Yunkurra) Lydia Balbal Shellie Blatch
Betty Bundamurra Katjarra Butler Teddy Byrne
Dianne Campbell Nola Campbell Doreen Chapman
Zabia Chmiewlewski Mette Clifton Sangita Trivedi Daniel
Kelli Dawson Layne Dhu-Dickie Sonya Edney
Tracie Fleay Melissa Foster Nils Friedrich
William (Nyapuru) Gardiner Ian Gear Mary Gibson
Nyarapayi Giles Dianne Golding Maggie Green
Leanne Harrison Ella Hinch Timo Hogan
Howard Holder David Hooper Janeen Horne
Sadie James Tjukupati James Daisy Japulja
Ashvin Jeeloll Pillita Jones Gloria
Eleanor Killen Helen Komene Sonia Kurarra
Ruth Leigh Travis Lilley Tania A Lindau
Benjamin Loaring Jody Loaring Isaac Loaring
Owen Loaring Lindsay Malay Jan Malkin
Wes Maselli Ngarralja Tommy May Carrie McDowell
Alana McKenzie Eric Mitchell Amie Montefiore
Georgia Morgan Katie Nalgood Ellen Norrish
Melissa North Kael Nunn Clare Peake
Beryl Ponce Patju Presley Kathy Ramsay
Thomas Reid Jayne Rolinson Janet Ross
Winnie Sampi Judith Samson (Anya) Amanda Saunders
Michelle Siciliano John Prince Siddon Annika Stenvall
Emma Tan Keriana Tarawe-Eaglesome Muuki Taylor
Kyah Turner Ben Ward Wendy Warrie
Kimberley Wholohan Bugai Whyoulter Corban Clause Williams
Julie Woods June Zeidler Breckon
Narelle Bettini

2017 Hedland Art Awards partners and sponsors


Form - building a state of creativity